Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Professors Barry Potter and Chris Garland have been elected to an Honorary Fellowship of the British Pharmacological Society at a ceremony at the Royal Society of Biology in London on 6 December. Honorary Fellows are elected for life in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service and include Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the Society. Professor Potter was elected on the basis of excellence in research, particularly in medicinal chemistry, including drug discovery and development. Chris Garland was also elected on the basis of excellence in research, with his seminal discoveries around endothelial cell control of the microvasculature in health and disease defining this aspect of vascular pharmacology. Amongst the 13 newly elected Honorary Fellows was also Professor Chas Bountra, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Innovation and Associate Member of the Department.

Similar stories

Collaboration in action - from a Pharmacology perspective

As part of the Medical Sciences Division's series on industry collaboration, Pharmacology's Associate Professor Sri Vasudevan shares the important of networking at conferences and listening to a range of views as vital building blocks that can lead to effective commercial partnerships.